SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

A/C Heater Control is out of Whack... Or maybe I am!

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-09, 08:19 AM
deviat
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C Heater Control is out of Whack... Or maybe I am!

I have this issue with my heater/AC. It works, I get hot air and Cold AC when I select them, but I cannot control the blower motor speed. A few months ago it was pegged on high speed, then it got stuck on low speed after that. Now its getting colder, and the heater is blowing too slow to compete with the chill.

The car is stock everything, haven't done anything to make it do this, where should I begin to look, or tinker with in order to find the issue? I have plenty of hands on experience and technical knowhow to tackle the issue, and possibly repair electronics I just need a starting point. (Yes I've checked fuses, though that wouldn't make sense to me as it should be on a type of rheostat device right, that uses different levels of resistance to slow the motor down. ) If I'm wrong please correct me, my kids need the heater, I could tough it out with a coat. They can't. Thanks for anything fellas!

-Daniel
Old 12-07-09, 11:22 AM
1JZPWRD
1JZ Single SC400

Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts

I would begin to say its the climate control module/itself, going out. They are a known issue along with the blackened LCD going across the screen. I would start there. I wish I could tell you more.
Old 12-07-09, 11:25 AM
deviat
Driver School Candidate

I actually just found a post on here, that explains it as the transistor, and/or the resistor modules. I will report back once I test and get it running. The unit itself works, so I would have to rule it out. Unless I get no signals to the resistor block , or the transistor unit, then I can't say at all that I suspect my control unit.
Old 12-07-09, 03:18 PM
sa_dude1
Driver School Candidate