SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Good Car On A Budget Possible?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-16, 09:27 PM
oSUPRAo
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good Car On A Budget Possible?

I have been doing tons of research since I got my 1998 SC300 and it seems like building a good car on a budget is nearly impossible.

I looked into getting some coilovers, and the overwhelming response was "cheap ones are garbage and a waste of money and if you don't buy $2,500+ KWs don't bother." Then I look into getting wheels and same thing. The general consensus seems to be that if you don't buy a $4,000 set of Volks you're going to be cracking and bending rims left and right. I understand that you get what you pay for, but with most things there is a good bang for buck option. I don't want to drop a grand on a set of coilovers if they're bad quality, but I also can't spend $2,500 on a set of KWs...
Old 09-18-16, 10:24 PM
DrAtomica
Intermediate

Received 65 Likes on 41 Posts

It all depends on your goals, what exactly are you trying to do with your car. If it's going to be a track car, you wouldn't want to go cheap since you'll need things that can handle a high amount of load, if you want to just do it for shows and perhaps some dailying you won't need to spend a **** load. I wouldn't advise getting crappy wheels but you don't need to get super expensive ones if you aren't going to be going fast. Another option for you to buy is used, get low mileage coilovers/wheels if you want to save some. From your post it seems like you're doing research on what the majority is saying, which in most cases people don't know what they are talking about, unless they specify their experiences in depth. Learn about how these things work in depth and make your purchase based on things that you will need or may need in the future.
Old 09-19-16, 07:28 AM
Biddles
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If you listen to what people online say you'll never get anything done.