SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

AC repairability

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-16, 08:30 PM
rgao007
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AC repairability

Looking at a '98 SC400 on Craigslist for only $1000, but it has quite a few issues. The most major is that the AC doesn't work; is this an easy fix? I don't have any more details on why it isn't.
Old 09-03-16, 10:46 PM
oSUPRAo
Rookie

I'm not a mechanic but I would say it largely depends. If it blows but not cold I wouldn't be too worried. If the compressor is seized then i would assume a lot of money to fix unless you can do all the work yourself. If the AC in my SC went out I would just remove it. I live in Florida, and even here I don't run the A/C 90% of the time. Fifty pounds of weight reduction plus less parasitic loss. For a thousand bucks I would be amazed if it even moves and stops.
Old 09-03-16, 11:21 PM
mikef
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I dont see the point in getting a car like this for 1000 if it needs a lot of work, its probably worth to just find something for 5k or more. you will pull your hair out if the interior is shot because its hard to find
Old 09-04-16, 12:08 AM
oSUPRAo
Rookie

Originally Posted by mikef
I dont see the point in getting a car like this for 1000 if it needs a lot of work, its probably worth to just find something for 5k or more. you will pull your hair out if the interior is shot because its hard to find
My thoughts exactly. Initially I was looking at beaters to mess with but then I realized that I don't want to put time and money into a POS. If budget is the reason why you're looking at cheap ones, that's understandable, but if you're willingly buying the cheapest one possible I would advise against that unless you're a mechanic. By the time you're done you'll save money by buying a nicer one from the get go.
Old 09-04-16, 07:11 AM
mikef
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts