SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

New to the forums, help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-16, 02:07 AM
jacobely94
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the forums, help!

Hey guys, my name is Jake and i'm new to the forums and new to lexus. I am wanting to get into a sc300 but I'm wanting to do some research first. I'm relatively new to cars (only been in the game around a year now) so i don't know a lot. I'm wondering what things I should look for in a car to decide if it is worth being purchased. Any main problems that I should stay away from? Also, as you guys know most sc's are stock automatic. How hard and expensive is it to do a tranny swap? Are parts easy to find and are they expensive compared to other cars? I was debating between this car and a 240 but 240's are so popular that I want something a little different. Any info will help and if you guys could try to explain it to someone who doesn't know all of the car jargon yet, that would be great. Thank you!

Also what year do you guys think is best?
Old 07-30-16, 07:50 AM
t2d2
Lead Lap

Received 228 Likes on 208 Posts

"I am wanting to get into a sc300 but I'm wanting to do some research first."

No offense, but those are easily researched questions. What you want is someone to hand you the answers.
Old 07-31-16, 05:41 PM
Chattanoah
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey Jake, welcome from a newbie. I'm fairly new to the car community and definitely to Lexus as well, but t2d2 is right, everything you want to know and more can be found in these forums. The people in it are amazingly talented and passionate, and extremely knowledgeable and willing to share that knowledge! As far as forums that I've seen, I'm convinced this early model SC forum is one of the best. Do your own research until you can't find answers, but here are some personal thoughts from a not too experienced SC owner: