SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Easy aftermarket stereo reciever

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-16, 07:28 PM
Tetsumon
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Easy aftermarket stereo reciever

Hi, this is my first time posting on this fourm, sorry if i'm posting in the wrong category or something

I was wondering if there is a stereo receiver that I can just plug in the preexisting wire bundles to. I have close to no knowledge about these things, but I'm guessing connections have changed since 1995. I don't have the confidence to cut wires and such, but i think I have enough brains to unplug and plug things. all I really want is something with aux cable and under $100, since the original cassette player seems to be broken.

sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm still new to having a car. any sort of advice will be greatly appreciated!
Old 06-29-16, 11:10 PM
TWOJZPOWA
Driver School Candidate

There should be a harness you can buy that plugs in between the aftermarket receiver and the factory harness.
Old 06-30-16, 06:00 AM
Bankswood
Lead Lap

Go online to Crutchfield and you should find something in your price range. Normally when you buy from them they will include the correct harness.
Old 06-30-16, 07:48 AM
Sactolex
Rookie

depends on what type of head unit yours has, but you can do a stupid quick easy mod to add an aux in to your head unit.

also, if you replace the head unit with aftermarket, you may not be able to use your factory amp for the subwoofer without trickier wiring.
Old 06-30-16, 09:21 AM
Tetsumon
Driver School Candidate

I suppose the most straightforward fix would be to find the same oem head and slap it on

as for the harness, my understanding is that the connecting end would be maker or model specific to the stereo?
Old 06-30-16, 02:07 PM
KahnBB6

Received 1,250 Likes on 870 Posts