SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

DIY: MY take on how I made 6.5" speakers fit my rear deck

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-16, 12:36 AM
ThatSCguy
Rookie

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default DIY: MY take on how I made 6.5" speakers fit my rear deck

Hi, this is how I tackled mounting a 6.5" speakers in place of my rear 4" speakers. I didn't feel that it was sufficient enough to use bigger washers to hold the speaker down bc if it comes off you have to take everything out again and that rear deck liner is so old it turns into dust after not being fondled with after 20 years.

This is after you've removed everything btw.

DISCLAIMER: This is if you've been tired of no sound coming from your busted rear speakers and decided to go replace them but found a deal for 6.5" 2-way Kickers for only 10$ more and any sound to you coming from the back is considered way better than no sound from the rear speakers. I AM NO EXPERT I REPEAT I AM NO EXPERT WHATSOEVER, I'm just tired of buying new tools and materials for every little thing as much as I enjoy it, my wallet doesn't.

Stuff you need: dremel (hack saw if you have one****), safety goggles, a screw driver or a drill with a screw driver bit, self tapping screws or the ones included with your new speakers, 3M double sided tape

Link at the end of this post on how to remove the speakers.

1. Once you have your 4" speakers removed with its plastic mount remove the 4" speaker there's about 4 screws keeping it on the plastic(very easy to spot). once its just the plastic piece it should look like this

2. As you can see my speaker's mounting tabs are pretty distant from the pre-drilled holes on the car. So what we're gonna do is make it fit onto the plastic mount so it's secure.

If you look at it the speaker tabs are too far for my screws to reach the plastic so we're gonna cut that ring. this is where the dremel w/ cutting ring comes in.