SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Advice before buying 2JZ SC...

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-14, 03:39 AM
maaaaackle
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice before buying 2JZ SC...

Hey guys, I'm looking at a buddy's SC. It comes with the 2JZGTE swap already and he's letting it go to me for a pretty good deal.

The parts list includes a Precision 6266 turbo, R154 tranny, turbosmart wastegate on FSR cast manifold, and a lot more.

But of course, there is a downside. The engine has some rod knock at high RPM's. At idle it sounds fine. Could I get away with replacing just the block? Or am I looking at potentially a bigger headache? Any input is welcome! I'm still fairly new to the 2JZ world so any kind of guidance would be appreciated.

Edit - I'm probably missing some vital information....so just let me know and I'll try to get that updated!

Last edited by maaaaackle; 11-27-14 at 03:48 AM.
Old 11-27-14, 12:07 PM
CIGLexus
Pit Crew

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

How much? The block could easily be rebuilt. But the fact that it is already swapped is the best part.
Old 11-27-14, 10:52 PM
maaaaackle
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by CIGLexus
How much? The block could easily be rebuilt. But the fact that it is already swapped is the best part.
Im paying only $3500 for it.

Originally Posted by GSXMike
I would walk away from it. Sounds like someone elses problem. At the least you would need to pull the motor to replace bearings. Worst case full bottom end rebuild depending on how bad the issue is.

I've found that so many in the SC community try to do a turbo GTE swap and most of them turn out hacked up with many details skipped. Either pony up the cash for a well sorted turbo SC, or buy a stock car and modify it yourself.
I totally get you. But this is my buddy and I can vouch that his swap is not hacked up. But it did end up with rod knock.

I guess I'll just put a GE block to the GTE head and do a simple rebuild...is that a good idea?