RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

2010+ Rx Models - Buy? First lexus!

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-14, 07:49 PM
rishsngh
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2010+ Rx Models - Buy? First lexus!

Hey guys,

I am new to this thread, in fact this is my first post. I am planning on buying a RX. 2010+ due to better crash rating that older models, hopefully?. As i have never owned a lexus before so have some questions.

Q1. How is maintenance, i have heard older models had better quality?

Q2. In terms of repairing, can a Toyota mechanic be approached or only lexus dealer.

Q3. Any due diligence/inspection for common lexus problems during test drive.

Thanks in advance!
Old 07-09-14, 10:43 PM
raylor4
Instructor

Received 59 Likes on 36 Posts

Originally Posted by rishsngh
Hey guys,

I am new to this thread, in fact this is my first post. I am planning on buying a RX. 2010+ due to better crash rating that older models, hopefully?. As i have never owned a lexus before so have some questions.

Q2. In terms of repairing, can a Toyota mechanic be approached or only lexus dealer.

Thanks in advance!
We've only been owners for eight months, but here are my two cents:
1. Maintenance costs more, but you get more. Frequency and severity is no more than any other comparable car. You can take your Lexus to Toyota for routine maintenance and repairs. Not warranty work.
From what I've read here, breakdowns are slim to none and Slim's out of town. Quality is excellent.
2.See #1