RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Key detected in vehicle issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-11, 05:43 PM
KrisA
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Key detected in vehicle issue

Hi,
This is my first time posting here, but I have found a lot of helpful tips on this forum since joining the Lexus family in Dec 2011. I have a 2011 RX350 that I absolutely adore!! However, over the past week, I have been to my dealership 2x (about to go back for a 3rd visit) for a very annoying problem....
While driving, a message comes up on the dash "Key Detected in Vehicle". The message stays on for a bit, then goes off on it's own. A few times, the message will appear that the back is open, the interior lights come on & the chimes sound. Again, this is while the vehicle is in motion. It seems to happen or be triggered by going over bumps in the road. The dealership replaced the rear door hatch latch & sent me on my way. Unfortunately, on the drive home from the dealership, the message appeared again. I returned it to the dealership & they determined that the hatch was not aligned properly, so their body shop "realigned" the hatch. That "fix" only last one day & the problem resurfaced again.
The problem seems to be with the rear hatch not closing properly or completely sometimes & when the vehicle hits a bump in the road, the system senses the door is ajar or that it's not fully closed, etc, therefore the "key detected in vehicle" message & other times, the latch is not secure & the rear door is not closed, resulting in the "back open" indicator, lights & chimes .
I have googled the problem & interestingly enough, I found the exact same issue listed in the Prius forum. So, obviously it is a Toyota issue, so just wondering if any other Lexus owners have experienced the issue & if so, what was the ultimate fix?
Thanks in advance for any input....
Old 11-10-11, 06:47 PM
Cruiter