RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Increase Horsepower.....

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-10, 01:34 PM
mminton350
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Increase Horsepower.....

This is my first post in this forum. Happy to be here! I drive a CLK as my daily driver and my wife and I recetly bought a MY08 RX350. Love the car ovrall, the ease and comfort of driving this car is spoiling me!

I would however love to know if any of you have found any easy ways to milk a few extra horses out of the V6? My first thought was to install K&N airfilter but other than that I am pretty new to this vehicle and its engine.

I'd love any insight/advise you all have to offer!

Glad to have found a great forum!

Thanks for your knowledge,

MMM350
Old 06-27-10, 01:44 PM
catdaddylo
Intermediate

Received 106 Likes on 72 Posts

One of the easiest way to increase HP is a freer flowing exhaust system. The downside is usually a louder tone that you may find irratating (and others outside vehicle) after a while. Also you may check out after market computer chip that change spark advance, timing, etc. but the easiest way is just keep that baby washed, waxed and clean.

Cat
Old 06-27-10, 03:43 PM
salimshah

Received 996 Likes on 900 Posts

I am not aware of after-market chip for Rxs.

My recommended list is:

1. Shed the weight, this will give you the most [hp/weight] factor improvement. But it will come at a cost of luxury/comfort/spare etc.

2. Change the torque converter.

3. Wheels and tire. Low weight, better traction etc.

Salim
Old 06-28-10, 12:06 AM
wr332
Rookie

have you try the stickers yet? i been told they work wonders, just put them on and they boost your Horsepower up by 40+ every kid is doing it,. and they say it really works

Results may vary

Old 06-28-10, 02:10 AM
action
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post