RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

O2 and multiple Misfire help.. please!

Old 10-06-14, 03:10 PM
Gioperrone
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default O2 and multiple Misfire help.. please!

hello everyone,

this is my first post here seeing im new to the Lexus environment i recently purchased a 2003 RX300 Lexus with 137,302 Kilometers from an elderly woman selling it to buy a 2014 RX model.

loved the ride completely very comfortable and all.

got a check engine light 2 days later. i own a code reader so scanned it and got a P0171 code: bank 1 lean.

i then googled the error code. and multiple people said it could be a dirty or defective MAF, i went ahead cleaned it with brake cleaner and cleared the code.

all went super well till two days later, i got another check engine light along with VSC;

P0300 Multiple misfires detected
P0301 Cylinder 1 Misfire dectected
P0303 Cylinder 3 Misfire dectected
P0305 Cylinder 5 Misfire dectected
And
P0134 Oxygen (Lambda) Sensor Bank 1 Sensor 1

and the have NOT seen code P0171 since i cleaned the MAF..

ive tried swapping Coilpacks with the Cyl. 2 4 6 and still misfire on same cyld. 1 3 5..

would the O2 sensor cause the misfire on the Cylinders 1 3 5?

thanks in advance for all help!
Old 10-06-14, 04:29 PM
carguy07
Lexus Champion

Received 73 Likes on 65 Posts

Originally Posted by Gioperrone
hello everyone,

this is my first post here seeing im new to the Lexus environment i recently purchased a 2003 RX300 Lexus with 137,302 Kilometers from an elderly woman selling it to buy a 2014 RX model.

got a check engine light 2 days later. i own a code reader so scanned it and got a P0171 code: bank 1 lean.

i then googled the error code. and multiple people said it could be a dirty or defective MAF, i went ahead cleaned it with brake cleaner and cleared the code.

all went super well till two days later, i got another check engine light along with VSC;

And