RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Catalytic Converter issues 99 RX300

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-13, 09:09 AM
LouisUGA
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Catalytic Converter issues 99 RX300

Hello All,

I have enjoyed reading posts on this forum but this is my first time posting a message. I am writing because I have a 1999 Lexus RX300 that has been having some issues lately. I am nut sure which symptoms are related to the current problem, so I will give a brief history since I have owned it.

Bought it in 2010 with 169,000 miles
Ran great the first 18 months.

About a year and a half ago, a check engine light came on. A local mechanic ran the code and said that it indicated that a catalytic converter was bad. Because I live in Routt county, Colorado where there are no emissions requirements, he suggested that I do not worry about fixing it because it will not affect the performance of the vehicle.

One year ago, the engine was idling very rough as in an engine misfire. Ran the code (dont remember it now) and figured out that it was one of the easily accessible engine coils. During the misfiring, I had to drive the vehicle over a mountain pass to get to an auto parts store. At the top of the pass, I hopped out of the vehicle to see what the cat looked like. As expected, It was bright red hot. So the already damaged cat was definitely toast. When I got to the auto parts shop, I Replaced the ignition coil and the car ran great again. About 6 months later, I got the same symptoms, the same code, and replaced the same ignition coil. Again, the car ran great.