RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

CEL code b2798

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-16, 02:03 PM
Kevodawg92
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CEL code b2798

Hey guys I'm new to owning a Lexus, and I'm pretty mechanically inclined but this one has me stumped. Purchased this rx300 awd off a friend of mine last week and I plan to fix it and drive it daily. So far no luck.

What its doing: it will start sometimes, and other times it will sit there and crank. when you rev it in park, it goes to 3k rpm and hit the rev limmiter. In drive, acts like transmission is in some kind of limp mode.

CEL throws codes for all 6 cylinders misfiring, even though at idle it runs flawless with no hesitation. Also throws a code (b2798) Communication Malfunction No. 2 Immobilizer System

I don't know much about the history of the vehicle, but what I do know is that it had a remote start installed on it at one time. The guy took it to a local shop and had them remove it when it started acting funny. So I decided to look under the dash and see if there was anything visually wrong with the ignition wires. Low and behold, there were wires that were hacked up and choppy coming out of one of the main plugs for the ignition. This rendered that plug useless where they had cut so close to the plug leaving me with no extra wire to work with. So I ended up finding a replacement plug off of one of our Toyota doner front ends sitting at work (I work in a body shop) and I was able to replace and re solder everything back together. After doing so, I hooked the battery back up and tested it, and still having the same issue.