RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Accidently bought very tall jack stands

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-17, 08:39 PM
jwigley
Pit Crew

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Accidently bought very tall jack stands

I accidentally bought a pair of 6 ton US Jack - jack stands. They are: Low Height 16 1/4 " Maximum Height 25 1/4 " Base Diameter 11" x 11 "

I meant to buy a 3 ton pair that are: Low Height 11 " Max Height 17 3/4 " Base 10 " x 10 "

I don't know if I can return these now though.

I jacked my RX up tonight and, to get the jacks underneath (I have the jack stands set at the lowest position), I had to go pretty high it seemed. I'm a super novice home mechanic so I'm not sure if that could be potentially unsafe. Any advice?

(on a side note, I plan on buying a truck late winter/early spring so these jacks might be okay in the future but for now I'm wondering if they are okay)

Last edited by jwigley; 09-28-17 at 09:12 PM.
Old 09-28-17, 09:17 PM
Lexmus
Intermediate

Received 69 Likes on 64 Posts

I don't think it is dangerous if your jack can easily raise the RX that high. I prefer the lower jack stands as they are good enough and require less pumping to achieve the purpose.

As for returning the stands, I will not return something that I have used and works properly. But many people do and get away with it, so what do I know.
The following users liked this post:
jwigley (09-28-17)
Old 09-28-17, 09:56 PM
Aron9000
Lexus Champion

Received 28 Likes on 27 Posts

Higher ones are better!!! Once you get on your creeper, you'll appreciate that extra 3-4" of clearance. Gives you a lot more room to work.
Old 09-29-17, 07:42 AM
salimshah

Received 994 Likes on 898 Posts

The 2 issues with raising the vehicle higher is that the center of gravity moves higher [tipping is easier ... 1/2 degree change in the base may cause substantial lateral (trig)] and the vehicle starts packing lot of potential energy.