RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Check Engine Light again 2000 RX300. Help!

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-05, 10:51 AM
netnut
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Check Engine Light again 2000 RX300. Help!

I have a 2000 RX300. The check engine light came on a month ago. I took it to the Toyota dealer for regular service and the light. The code he found was P0171 and said the A/F Ratio Sensor needed to be changed ($273 for sensor, $116 for labor). Expensive :-( he also said something about "if the manifold is also bad it will be more work". That was prior to fixing the sensor.

All was well until this morning, the check engine light came on again.
There are no other symptoms, the car runs fine.

Just one other data point: the wife gets the tank to be pretty low before she fills up again. But it has never gotten empty.

I am new to this, any advice appreciated. Also a pointer to a reader I could buy for this car and my GS300 2001 would also be appreciated. I am computer savvy, but not auto savvy.

Thanks!

Netnut
2000 RX 300
2001 GS 300
Old 09-20-05, 11:49 AM
netnut
Driver School Candidate

Default Update

Toyota called and said this time it is the MAF sensor and they will give me a price on that. Based on what I read here, I asked him to clean it first. Now I'm not sure whether the AF needed to be replaced in the first place. may have just been a dirty MAF :-(

Netnut
Old 09-20-05, 12:59 PM
Lexmex
Super Moderator

Received 161 Likes on 137 Posts

I have had the condition of a low tank and the CEL comes on. Whether they are connected I do not know for sure. If it was, I think it is probably the muck at the not causing a good combustion, hence a lean condition for a second or to, triggering P0171.