RX - 4th Gen (2016-2022) Discussion topics related to the 2016 and up RX350 and RX450h models

Check your Alignment/tire wear

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-16, 05:25 AM
FastFord
Racer

Received 345 Likes on 261 Posts
Default Check your Alignment/tire wear

I was marking my tires before the 8K inspection and noticed my front right and rear left were not wearing properly. The tires had some feathering on the outside edges. The car did not pull and gave no indication that it needed an alignment. Lexus will perform an alignment and balance the tires for free in the first year...not exactly sure what the mileage or time is.

I was advised that a correction was done on the front right and rear left, others were good. Front right was out a lot. I forgot to ask what they did, toe camber etc. and I am no expert on alignment issues.

I wasn't too happy that I didn't notice this earlier, but it's fixed now.

Don't be like me. Check your tires carefully before you get too many miles on them.
Old 09-04-16, 12:44 PM
Radio88
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Good information and thanks for bringing it to everyone's attention. It could be they jacked it on the train from Canada or something. Just an uneducated shot at it but I feel like they over torque these cars down for shipping I could be wrong..which by the way, I would have them look over the suspension/steering parts for damage. I do know from reading that you aint a curb smacker so what else could it be?
I happen to be a guy who eyeballs my tires every trip. Every time. Luckily mine are good albeit the Bridgestones. Still like new so far.
Old 09-06-16, 10:59 AM
FastFord
Racer

I definitely didn't hit a curb or pot-hole. I suspect that it just wasn't a very good alignment job from the factory. Maybe like you said while shipping.

I'm not blaming Lexus. I'm a big boy and should know to check my tires more carefully. Just there was no indication such as pulling etc.