RX - 4th Gen (2016-2022) Discussion topics related to the 2016 and up RX350 and RX450h models

Question about Lexus's adaptive cruise control

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-15, 09:38 AM
pdaeng
Driver

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Question about Lexus's adaptive cruise control

I test drove the new RX350 today.
One of the must-have functions for me is the full-speed adaptive cruise control.

I am currently a Subaru driver with eyesight system.
In my Subaru, when I turn on the ACC, there will be a screen showing whether there is a car locked by the ACC system and each time the system locks a new car ahead of you, it will beep to tell you that the car in front of you is locked.

I think the Subaru's way make me feel very safe because you know that whether the ACC system is worked correctly or has a problem

However, when I test drove the RX350 today. I found out that
1) no beep for locking a car ahead.
2) the ACC screen only lasts for a short time and then changes back to the normal information screen
automatically.

So, I can not tell whether the ACC is working correctly or not while leaving my foot away from brake and throttle, which I think is quite dangerous, because you do not know when to trust the system.

But, I am not sure whether there is somewhere that I can change the setting.

Any current owner verify this for me?

Thanks
Old 12-12-15, 10:58 AM
Bearcat
Lead Lap

Received 31 Likes on 26 Posts

Nope. It's the way it is.
Old 12-12-15, 12:07 PM
pdaeng
Driver

Originally Posted by Bearcat
Nope. It's the way it is.
I see.

But, I find out a solution for this. -- HUD.

haha
Old 12-12-15, 12:12 PM
hon3kong
Rookie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

When i activate the cruise control, HUD shows 'rader ready'. If i lost a car in front or a motorcycle cut in front. HUD will display a msg saying that the system just turned off, also beeping to notify me. So i never feel unsafe using the system
Old 12-12-15, 07:08 PM
pdaeng
Driver

Originally Posted by hon3kong