RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Trying to make sense of the Navigation system

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-16, 12:30 PM
steerpike
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Trying to make sense of the Navigation system

I'm new to the Lexus navigation system, and the first time I used it I was impressed that I could speak street names while driving. But the other day I wanted to get directions to the local IKEA store, and I could not get it to accept a business name (through the voice menus while driving). Is there a way to do this? I just spent a few hours looking through the navigation manual and it seems to support voice selection of POIs, but not shopping locations, perhaps? I also found myself at one point on a menu where Target stores showed up, but not the IKEA. Maybe they only display stores who pay for placement?

I solved the problem by using Waze on my phone, but I'd like to figure this out if possible ... because I'm a nerd ...
Old 05-10-16, 01:30 PM
CookieRoe
Driver

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by steerpike
Maybe they only display stores who pay for placement?
Ding ding ding.

I can't remember the name of the service (Navitech/navistar/navisomethingorother). If you don't pay, you don't show up on their database.
Old 05-10-16, 02:52 PM
steerpike
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by CookieRoe
Ding ding ding.

I can't remember the name of the service (Navitech/navistar/navisomethingorother). If you don't pay, you don't show up on their database.
Yeah, tried again today, and 'find nearby Walmart' worked, and 'find nearby Target' worked - but no IKEA. I then trawled through the screens for POI /Category / Shopping, and found Walmart and Target, but not IKEA.

BUT - if I go through the menus, and choose 'POI' / 'Name', and enter IKEA, it finds the place without any problem.