RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

2010 RX350 Brake Change w/ Photos

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-14, 11:25 PM
ThChinaman
Pit Crew

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 2010 RX350 Brake Change w/ Photos

So it's my first time changing brakes. Hopefully everything is okay and this could act as a guide towards other first timers. My rear brake pads were 3mm at the time of the change and rotors were 8.8mm. At that time I did not realize that the minimum thickness was 8.5mm so I did not replace them. I'll do so once the parts arrive and continue on this thread. Replacement for brake pads only took about 30min each.

Notes:
- New rear brake pads are 10mm thick. Minimum thickness is 1mm.
- New rear rotors are 10mm thick. Minimum thickness is 8.5mm.

Parts:
- Anti-Squeal Grease
- Lexus OE Rear Brake Pads (Part#: 044660E010 for Canadian built VIN# 2T, 0446648130 for Japan built VIN# JT.)

Tools:
- 14mm Socket
- 14mm Wrench
- 21mm Socket
- Brake Cleaner
- Breaker Bar
- Jack
- Jack Stands
- C-Clamp?
- Torque Wrench

1. Set wheel chocks on each of the front wheels. Jack up car, place jack stands and remove lugs with 21mm socket and a breaker bar.

2. Open the hood and partially remove cap to brake fluid reservoir.

3. Remove two 14mm bolts at the rear of the caliper and carefully pull the caliper outwards as the brake line is short and shouldn't be strained.

4. Push the piston back into the caliper. I have seen people recommend placing the old brake pad over the piston and using a c-clamp to push against both the brake pad and the back of the caliper however mine ended up being too small so I tried to use my fingers and just press and it worked. However, the dust boot around the piston doesn't look right afterwards but I left it as is. Hopefully it's okay. Maybe someone can chime in on whether or not I should fix it?