RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Disappointed with Lexus GPS system

Old 02-03-14, 07:39 AM
HDD
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a 2013 RX350.So far my experience with the Nav is that one cannot rely on it completely. I used it to navigate to a airport which I have been traveling to for the last 10 years. Mapquest, google maps gets you there in 55 min.using standard route. Lexus Nav gave me directions which would take 90 min.to get to the same destination. Tried playing with all options in the system. Same results.
Do your homework before you head out. Disappointing, needless to say after spending $$$ and getting a substandard product from a " top brand ".
Old 02-03-14, 07:52 AM
vlad_a
Lexus Champion

Received 54 Likes on 52 Posts

Originally Posted by HDD
I have a 2013 RX350.So far my experience with the Nav is that one cannot rely on it completely. I used it to navigate to a airport which I have been traveling to for the last 10 years. Mapquest, google maps gets you there in 55 min.using standard route. Lexus Nav gave me directions which would take 90 min.to get to the same destination. Tried playing with all options in the system. Same results.
Do your homework before you head out. Disappointing, needless to say after spending $$$ and getting a substandard product from a " top brand ".
Technically speaking, the top brand is "Pioneer" in this case. And they make pretty decent aftermarket units. How did they manage to mess up this badly is beyond me as well. Could it be manufacturer specs that they had to deal with?
Old 02-04-14, 08:36 AM
ejm3
Driver

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Here's what drives me nuts about the nav system.

I'm going to someone's house for a Christmas party. Address is 211 Whatever Street.