RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Newbie looking to make a few upgrades, any recommendations? (Car Starter/Speaker/etc)

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-16, 10:15 AM
RSA90
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie looking to make a few upgrades, any recommendations? (Car Starter/Speaker/etc)

Hello Club Lexus!

I own a 2005 Lexus RX 330 FWD. It is the non-Navigation setup. Well-maintained, no mechanical issues. I am a full-time student, with no experience in upgrades.
I am considering the following changes below, any recommendations/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Listed by priority:
1) Gas spring. (Usually use a card or screwdriver to get the gas tank open. Will this spring work on my car? https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000O02K2M/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1482777236&sr=8-1&pi=SY200_QL40&keywords=dorman+lexus+rx+330&dpPl=1&dpID=41rhZdE8icL&ref=plSrch
2) Remote car starter, with alarm.
3) Front-passenger speaker blown, looking to replace. (other 3 are fine, should I replace all anyway?)
4) Replacing the media system with an indash -- bluetooth/iphone ready/google maps/etc.
5) HIDs.

I have done plenty of googling, but am starting to feel overloaded with the vast range of different setups/options available.
Club Lexus, can any of you suggest what might be ideal for me? What is the ideal price range I should be looking at, for each modification?
Any audio brands to steer away from? Is Bestbuy a good place to buy the remote car starter (they offer installation too)?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

**Bonus**: I have just moved to Chicago. If any of you are mechanics/ know someone who does quality work with reasonable prices, please get in touch with me.

Thank you,
RSA90

Last edited by RSA90; 12-26-16 at 10:36 AM.
Old 12-26-16, 01:43 PM
Lexuswiz
Instructor

Received 178 Likes on 165 Posts