RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

05 RX330 Transmission whine

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-13, 12:59 PM
Tuggy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 RX330 Transmission whine

Hi guys. I'm a newbie to this forum, but decided to make a new thread because I have had no luck finding the exact problem my finances RX is having while searching. There is a whine coming from what sounds like the transmission when cruising a very light throttle. I first noticed this last week on the interstate around 80 mph. If I let off the gas, the noise goes away. It also stops if I put the shifter in neutral. Now that I've noticed the noise it's not specific to highway speeds. The car has 65k miles and I am not sure of the service history on the transmission. Any ideas? I've had the wheel bearings go out on my truck before, but this doesn't sound like the same problem. Thanks for the help

The car does have the shift hesitation like others have mentioned. Not sure if that provides any insight
Old 12-13-13, 01:18 PM
Rainbird

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

Has the transmission ever been serviced? If you don't know I would register at the Lexus Owner's website. The complete Lexus service history of your vehicle will be there as well as any warranty work or recalls. You will need the VIN to complete the registration.
https://secure.drivers.lexus.com/lexusdrivers/home
Old 12-13-13, 02:38 PM
Tuggy
Driver School Candidate

I just searched the VIN, and it doesn't look like the transmission has ever been serviced
Old 12-13-13, 02:59 PM
Rainbird

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by Tuggy
I just searched the VIN, and it doesn't look like the transmission has ever been serviced
Changing the fluid in the transmission would be the first thing to do. It's also possible that a wheel bearing is the problem.
Old 12-13-13, 07:46 PM
ceads9
Driver