RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Replacing brake pads. Do I need to bleed the brakes after?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-09, 02:19 PM
bagsbie
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing brake pads. Do I need to bleed the brakes after?

As the title of the thread implies I am a noob here, although, I did browse through the existing threads and found a wealth of information on how to do the brake pads replacement. Thank you, all. One thing I am still not sure about is whether I absolutely need to bleed the brakes after I am done replacing the pads? The car is 2006 with 43k miles. I am planning on doing the front ones first this weekend.
Old 05-01-09, 02:26 PM
howdybob22
Pole Position

You may need to flush the brake fluid if it has not been done. Routine maintenance said to change it every 2 years or 30,000 Miles. If your brake fluids has been flushed recently, then you don't need to bleed it - just swap out the pads.
Old 05-01-09, 02:30 PM
xfirechief
Lexus Test Driver

Suggest bleeding out all the old fluid with new synthetic fluid.
Suck out as much of the old fluid as possible from the reservoir & refill with new stuff, put the cap back on. If you have a brake bleeder use it, otherwise start with the caliper on the right rear & bleed out the old fluid then the left rear, then right front & finish with left front. Get 2 qts. of new fluid and pump out as much of the old stuff as u can. CAUTION, Do not let the reservoir run dry, fill it often & put the cap on before flushing each one.
Old 05-01-09, 05:07 PM
Grumpa72
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You do NOT need to bleed brakes because of brake pad replacement. You can just replace the pads and go driving.

That said, brakes should be bled periodically because the brake fluid absorbs moisture and can corrode (rust) your brake lines and calipers from the inside out.
Old 05-01-09, 07:27 PM
xfirechief
Lexus Test Driver