RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Rx330 Brake Pads replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-14, 09:04 AM
loco4diy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Many thanks to mandyfig for posting pictures and the exploded diagram views of the front and rear brakes.

They were extremely helpful in replacing the rear brakes on our 2006 rx330.
Also thanks to my neighbor Tony who lent me the hydraulic jack, jack stands and tools.
I also want to share the experience with any new diy "brake replacement virgin".
These are meant for newbies I do not want to bore the experts and experienced folks who have done this many times.
BEFORE ATTEMPTING REAR PAD REPLACEMENT I studied and I read all(and I mean all) posts related to brake pad replacement. I also viewed many you tube videos on the subject. From the most inexperienced and downright dangerous to the most careful and professional.
LESSONS LEARNED:
Loosen the lugnuts on both wheels before raising car. (obvious but easily overlooked).
Use breaker bar to loosen the appropiate bolts.
Use 17mm "short socket" a long one will not work( limited space)
Large 1/2 inch torque wrench is better than 3/8 torque wrench.(more leverage)
Apply blue loctite (small amount on treads)
Clean and lubricate(very well) rubber boot and outside caliper piston.(else rubber boot will not retract to flush position). (It took me 7 tries until I realized this).
Notes: The rear pads were the original ones. (bought the car new) Current mileage: 64,247
even wear on all pads, rotors were smooth. (no need to change).
Cost as of May 8, 2014 : Rear pads ($54) Sewell. Chemicals :$ 20.67 Labor: Free +Sweat =TOTAL:$74.67
Lexus Dealership cost: Appr. $300++ (Labor+ parts+incidentals +tax).
Money saved about $250. Learning experience: PRICELESS.
Next Front pads
Old 05-08-14, 10:35 AM
mandyfig

Received 407 Likes on 359 Posts

Good deal!!
Old 05-08-14, 03:33 PM
mandyfig