RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

ABS, rear axle, and no speedometer

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-16, 07:51 AM
Pzindy
Rookie

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default ABS, rear axle, and no speedometer

I have a 1999 RX300 AWD. About 197000 miles. I have had an ABS light on for about 24 months. The last time I checked the ABS codes (a few months ago) the only code was 34. Which I believe is left rear wheel.

I had purchased a used rear axle with a good tone ring. But had procrastinated the install.I decided yesterday afternoon was going to be the time for the axle install. I drove the car to church in the morning, and then on the way home, no speedometer. (This is a new problem) Wife also noticed an erratic fuel gauge.

I now have a CEL with P0500. What I did not do (and probably should of) was re-read the ABS codes.

Proceeded to (attempt to) remove the driver side rear axle DIY. This is my first time doing this. I got the axle nut off, and all four nuts off the differential. But I cannot get the axle to budge. Probably 17 years of road salt has done it damage and welded the axle to the differential.

Is there any gasket between the differential and the axle? Can I stick some kind of pry tool in there? Should I drench it in PB Blaster? Any other tricks to get this thing separated?

From searching the forum last night, it looks like others have had similar issue with ABS light and P0500. They suggested clearing CEL, reading the ABS codes again (I probably now have 31 32 33 and 34) , and then re-setting the ABS codes. That at least got the speedo working again.in the threads I found.

Ii wish I would have checked the ABS codes again before delving into the axle replacement, but hindsight is 20/20.
Old 04-04-16, 04:39 PM
carguy07
Lexus Champion

Received 73 Likes on 65 Posts

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/rx-...shaft-out.html
Old 04-04-16, 05:59 PM
maxSteel
Instructor

Received 240 Likes on 202 Posts