RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

2000 RX300 - Rough Idling and Bucking Acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-14, 04:15 PM
craad
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 RX300 - Rough Idling and Bucking Acceleration

I have been driving my 2000 RX300 for about five years now and I've had a problem that has come and gone intermittently for 1-2 years now. There will be times where my car will not accelerate correctly at all. When I'm accelerating from a stand still or slow down to probably under 10 mph and re-accelerate, the car will accelerate to a very low speed for awhile and will not budge over a couple miles per hour until I just about floor it, which then it will get over the acceleration problem and rocket forward. While it is coasting at the very low speed when I am trying to accelerate, I can hear some clicking or knocking sounds which seem to come from under the hood or front dash. This problem will occur once every few months and last for usually 2-4 days, then it will vanish. My CEL is constantly on even when this problem isn't occurring.

Last year, I ran the codes from the CEL and I got the P0325 and P0330 codes which correspond to the knock sensors being faulty. After going through the DIY thread posted on how to swap these out, I decided to try my hand at it. I ordered the OEM knock sensors to do the replacement, and when I had everything taken apart under my hood, I came to find out that I had the wrong sensors due to the fact that Lexus apparently switched up the knock sensors mid-production of the 2000 RX300 and it is basically a gamble to figure out which one you have. Pressed on time and the fact that I needed to use my car, I kept the same faulty knock sensors in and I haven't had a chance to get back at it and replace them with the correct part.