RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

New to THIS forum & buying a 2002 RX300 AWD this week

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-14, 12:00 PM
jimbug
Driver

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts
Default New to THIS forum & bought a 2002 RX300 AWD on 01/14/14

Hello, I'm Jim and I'm new to this particular Lexus forum.

I bought a 2001 RX300 - 74k for my daughter in 2008 and joined another Lexus forum to help me through that process. I learned a lot then about this vehicle and it's still going strong for my daughter with 125k miles now. I replaced the starter contact and plunger the first week I had it, and other than tires and oil changes it's been great. It recently started having an issue with the rear door not locking with the remote. I love driving this vehicle when I get a chance.

I drive a 2007 Honda Civic EX sedan I bought new and it has been nearly trouble free. No major problems with it at all, but I got tired of sitting so low and wanted something that could pull a very small boat I recently bought. I looked at an Acura RDX with the four cylinder turbo, and it drove very sporty. I looked at Grand Cherokees, Acura MDX, Honda Pilots & CRVs, Toyota 4Runners, Highlanders & RAV4s. All the time I kept thinking how nice my daughter's Lexus RX300 was to drive and it had been dependable.

So, this week while on a vacation break from work I found a 2002 RX300 AWD - 88k with tow package and a pretty good maintenance record at Hennessy Lexus in Atlanta. I made a deal on it Tuesday and will be headed down to pick it up Monday (hopefully) after they finish with a 90,000 mile service (timing belt), fix a leak in rear transfer case seal, fix the noisy spiral steering cable, replace wiper blades, and replace starter contacts and plunger (paranoid after my 2001 RX300) experience.

Wish me luck on my family's second first generation RX300. Reading this forum has helped me through the worrying and waiting process these last few days.

Thanks, Jim