RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

rx 300 transmission replaced but no oil pressure...

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-12, 11:51 AM
L1999rx300
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question rx 300 transmission replaced but no oil pressure...

Im not a mechanic but like to fix my own cars, I just bought an rx 300 with very high mileage 220k with a bad tranny for a very good deal, plus the body and interior is in very good shape. the thing is I jusrtr replaced the tranny with an used one, made the proper filter/oil change, and expected the trans. to work, but no luck, I checked the cooler lines to see if there was any pressure and nothing so I guess the transmission pump isn't working. well Im not familiar with this car, DOES ANYONE KNOW WHERE THE TRANNY PUMP IS LOCATED?, AND IF IS SOMETHING i CAN DO MY SELF? IF NOT, IS THERE ANY OTHER OPINION ON WHAT ELSE CAN IT BE OTHER THAN THE PUMP?
Old 04-01-12, 11:54 AM
hypervish
Lexus Test Driver

Received 88 Likes on 75 Posts

Welcome to Club Lexus!

Hate to tell you this, but the transmission oil pump is inside the transmission. Did the used transmission you got, come with a warranty? Was it from a junkyard?
Old 04-01-12, 12:01 PM
L1999rx300
Driver School Candidate

WOW, OK thats bad news. Yes it has 3 month warranty, I guess I'll have to take it back then, even do i dont think they have another one. I wanted to ask first before i actually take it back off... but THANKS FOR THE HELP!!
Old 04-01-12, 01:58 PM
salimshah

Received 992 Likes on 897 Posts

Originally Posted by L1999rx300