RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Poor quality Lexus leather

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-02, 05:47 PM
sktn77a
Lead Lap

Received 292 Likes on 257 Posts
Default Poor quality Lexus leather

Apologies if this is old-hat - I'm a newbie to the board. I have a 99 RX300 and the leather is cracking along the natural creases in the hide. The car is 3 years old and the seats look like c r a p!!! I've seen this on other Lexus and Toyotal cars so I don't think it's just me. Has anyone else had experience dealing with delarships on this. My dealer - Johnson Lexus of Raleigh, NC - said this is normal. Well, maybe it's normal for a second-rate, third-world car, but I thought Lexus was supposed to be a little better than this?

Keith
Old 10-10-02, 06:00 PM
mooretorque
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Talking

I grant you that Lexus leather may be a little thinner than some, but I've Lexol'd the seats in my wife's 99 RX (purchased new 6/98) ~every 6 mos. and lo, no cracking.

How have the seats been cared for??
Old 10-10-02, 06:02 PM
sktn77a
Lead Lap

Yep, "Leatheriqued" ever 6 months!
Old 10-10-02, 06:32 PM
Daddy-O
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome To ClubLexus.

I bought my RX from Johnson Lexus and they've been good to me so far. I raised issues regarding rattles and they were very reponsive and went out of their way to make it right.

I believe they will do so for you, too...If Your RX is still under warranty, go back to Johnson and politely, but firmly, get in their collective faces.

Don't let them know that you have seen this on other Lexus and Toyota cars. Take the high road and demand that they take the high road, too. You have to come out and ask straightaway...Hey, in this world, you don't get what you don't ask for.

You need to know what it is they are going to do to make this right. Escalate, if necessary. Don't take any crap. You are a Lexus owner.