RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Driver's Side Window Update was :( and now :)

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-11, 07:00 PM
Lexmex
Super Moderator

Received 159 Likes on 136 Posts
Default Driver's Side Window Update was :( and now :)

I've been pretty much forced due to time and money to work on my driver's side door window by myself, but hope to bring in my neighbor during the next week who is an electrical genius (I admit, I am no expert on this).

As I mentioned over the years (going back about to mid-2006) my front driver's side door has been on the fritz. During such time, one of my uncle's friends reconfigured my window to work, but with the drawback of having to hold the button in the up or down position to move. If you look at some of those window DIY, you will see how the top of the motor in several of those figures is taken off and attached to the side with some electrical tape.

Within the past month, the window has gone all but dead. I ended up finding out that my regulator (big metal thing that the window slides on) was also bent so ended up getting an aftermarket Dorman regulator that fit like a charm. I also got a motor from them, but couldn't get it hooked up exactly right and had to mix and match from the old motor and new motor to get it attached to the new regulator. That also worked sparingly.

Despite checking fuses, following reset procedures and running through the gambit of procedures in the service manual (and even taking the battery out of our 4Runner to check that possibility), nada...can hear the motor but no movement. Even removed the glass run and window and installed it.

My neighbor and I think there could be a frayed wire somewhere in the mix, because my front driver's side door speaker is also dead even though the electrical tester checked out with it and the amp was okay.

Will keep people informed but have a lot to do these coming weeks.