RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

1999 Stereo - Power but no sound

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-11, 07:47 AM
CubFan22
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 Stereo - Power but no sound

Well ole Betsy is showing her age again. Stereo powers up and appears to be working but no sound. I press the Mute button repeatedly and nothing seems to happen. I cannot tell if the mute is on or off. From reading other threads, there is amp located under the rear passenger seat. I live in the Caribbean and the nearest stereo mechanic is an hour away so I would like to try and DIY. Of course, I have no experience troubleshooting car audio. But I actually would like to take this opportunity to learn. Unemployed right now and have endless time on my hands. What tools and diagrams would I need and how would I actually test the amp and work my way back to the stereo? From experience what is the probability I need a new receiver? Should I start searching for one?

Hopefully I will have some music without buying a new receiver.
Old 01-19-11, 07:48 AM
CubFan22
Driver School Candidate

I have a 1999 RX 300
Old 01-19-11, 08:08 PM
maxSteel
Instructor

Received 240 Likes on 202 Posts

Cant post anything, it will be deleted.
Do a web search for 1999 rx300 radio wiring diagram, you will find one
Old 01-20-11, 08:07 AM
thomas1
Pole Position

Received 91 Likes on 77 Posts

Here is a thread with the info you need...
https://www.clublexus.com/forums/rx-...-volume-2.html
Old 01-21-11, 06:26 AM
CubFan22
Driver School Candidate

Thank you guys. Went on a hunt for the amp today, Popped the rear hatch open and lifted up the carpet where it meats the rear seats and found this retractable door bolted down. Think I see the amp through one of the holes. There is another screw under the carpet on the back of the seat. Looks like you have to pop the round plastic clasps to access this screw.