RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Need Recommendation Regarding Oil Change

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-09, 12:02 PM
RX300Taz
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Recommendation Regarding Oil Change

I'm a newbie 2002 RX300 owner. Actually I bought it last September from a Lexus dealer in Denver. It had 82,500 on it and had just been serviced. I now have 89,000 on it and have not changed the oil. Yea, I know better, but I promise not to go that long again!

I'm concerned about all the info about oil sludge I've read, particularly since I went this long to change the oil. The car had been serviced religiously by the previous owner at the dealer. As far as I know they used regular oil (not synthetic).

I'm going to change it today using Mobil 1 and a K&N 2009 oversized filter that I read about on this forum.

Questions :

How could I check if I have any sludge problem and how hard is it to do? My mechanic abilities are very basic.

If I can't check for sludge easily, should I do an engine cleaning treatment on it as a precaution? Auto-RX? Other options?

How many miles can I go safely on synthetic given this engine is prone to having a sludge problem?

Thanks and BTW this forum is fantastic! I've learned a lot from it. Special Thanks to the contributors that go to great lengths to provide detailed answers.
Old 02-20-09, 12:21 PM
lexus114
Lexus Champion

Received 35 Likes on 34 Posts