RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Buying a '99 RX - some questions...

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-06, 12:37 PM
lb535
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Buying a '99 RX - some questions...

Hi All,

I'm a relative newbie so my apologies if these questions have already been answered ad nauseum, but a quick search didn't turn up any answers.... so here goes:

I am considering buying a 1999 RX 300 (first year of production, since they have come down most in price and would be the only ones I could afford). A few questions:

* Can 2001-2003 HID headlamps (and related hardware) be retrofitted in the 1999-2000 models? How about the revamped halogen lights from those years? And are either a considerable improvement over the '99-00 lights? My current car has awful headlights and I drive at night alot, so this is an important consideration for me

* Can the radio head units be replaced with an aftermarket one with a navigation system built in? Or does the tie-in with the LCD display mandate keeping the factory radio? (I'm aware that Lexus offered optional Nav starting in 2001, but would rather not do a retrofit here, given that the technology has advanced since then, plus I want to add a rear-view camera that the factory system didn't have).

* In which year did the large, full-length center console replace the shorter, separate console that allowed easy walk-through between the front seats? I prefer the old arrangement since I often park in tight quarters and need to exit through the passenger door sometimes.

* I'm looking for a base model with the cloth/velour seats. Again, the 2001 models had new fabric. How was it different? (I do remember seeing cloth-seat RX 300s although most had leather)

* I also would prefer the FWD model to AWD. I'm in Maryland. How common were FWD RX's?

* Can the dashboard lighting color be changed to red, if I open it up and change bulbs etc.?