RC - 1st Gen (2015-present) Discussion about the new Lexus RC model

Lexus allowed my car to be remote-started by someone else; could have killed my fam.

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-15, 11:51 AM
lobuxracer
Tech Info Resource

Received 3,849 Likes on 2,334 Posts

I've been doing security for more than 35 years. Yeah, if my car had WiFi, I would disable it. If the BT had access to the OBD bus, I'd disable it too. Too much poor coding out in the world, more focused on features and time to market than security.
Old 01-28-15, 11:30 AM
Mehul1456
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Poqman
Infrared, I agree with you that the root problem is Lexus allowed your VIN # to be hijacked by someone else. There should be fail-safes in place that if a new Enform user tries to register a VIN # that is already registered, then Lexus should question the new user if the VIN was input correct letting the applicant know that the VIN had already been registered. If I was registering a new car, then telling me the VIN was already registered would be a flag to review the VIN I had entered. If it were a used car I was buying, then it is expected that the VIN may have already been registered. So forcing the VIN to be entered twice to assure accuracy may be the simple fix by Lexus.

I hope you get some resolution with Lexus because I'm sure I would not like this happening to me. Best of luck.
In order to avoid this issue again and skip manual, human entry of a VIN
All they would have to do is have one of their CPU Systems Engineers design a very simple program in which the owner must take a picture of the bar-code just under the VIN (usually on the windshield) and the program would then read the bar-code and then assign the appropriate VIN to that individual.