RC F (2015-present) Discussion topics related to the RC F model

First Year Reliability Concerns

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-15, 10:22 AM
1FlySi
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Year Reliability Concerns

The reason why I have not seriously looked at BMW or Audi are the stories around reliability and issues with those brands. I have some second hand experience with friends having issues with BMWs some of which were significant. I almost pulled the trigger on a RCF last night but with the rear wing, noises, front seat articulation, and other issues reported it has me a bit spooked. Albeit most of these are issues are not with the power train or electrical systems they are issues nonetheless. To be fair I did purchase a 2014 is350 last year, and I have had no issues with it so far.

What are your thoughts around this. I agree the reports of issues are somewhat limited but so are the numbers of RCFs sold. I strongly beleive in Lexus reliability but I also know that it's a numbers game. If they sell a large amount of RX, ES, IS cars with low issue rates that will mask the overall quality numbers even if the RCFs have a much much higher rate due to the tiny percentage that the RCF makes up of their sales.

What do u guys think?
Old 03-28-15, 10:47 AM
DrRick
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

1st runs of any car usually have teething problems. But lexus will sort it out. And like you said...those are pretty minor with respect to 'reliability'. I think you can be an RCF with confidence...
Old 03-28-15, 11:42 AM
7No
Intermediate