RC F (2015-present) Discussion topics related to the RC F model

Ride Quality

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-15, 11:32 AM
abstruse1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ride Quality

Having had my RC-F about 5 days now, I'm still learning. But one thing I have noticed is that the car has a harsh ride, esp. over small bumps and pitchy streets. It bugs me.

Three possible causes/cures come to mind:

1. Go to 18" wheels -- this is something I often do, for better ride quality, lower tire noise, and better wheel protection. But the challenge with this car is that there's abt. 1/4" clearance between the front calipers and the factory wheel, so it may be difficult or impossible to find an 18" wheel that will clear the unmodified calipers. Still, I'm going to look.

2. Shocks -- as far as I can tell, the shocks aren't adjustable. Without removing a shock and having it dyno'd, I don't know if they are causing a significant part of the ride harshness. I'll put the car on my lift next week to confirm this, but new shocks, even good, adjustable ones aren't too expensive.

3. Springs -- I assume they are coilovers in front. I can't tell about the rears until I get it on the lift. Fitting lower rate springs with a bit more preload to maintain ride height shouldn't be expensive.

BTW, I have a full machine shop with lift, so I can make changes pretty well.

So, does anyone have any experience or thoughts about this? Please don't tell me to just get used to it. Thanx, guys!
Old 01-31-15, 01:42 PM
waynesreef
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I kind agree with you. The ride is a bit harsh, specially I am in Michigan which is famous for worst roads in the country. My daily ride is a Bimmer. The ride is even harsher than the RC F. I am not plan on to spend extra money to make it rides like a LS sedan. But if you can not bear it then go ahead make the change. At end, it is your car and you want to enjoy it the way you like it to be.
Old 01-31-15, 05:17 PM