RC F (2015-present) Discussion topics related to the RC F model

2nd gear hesitation/jolt/RPM loss, even after Fuel Pump noise TSB

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-16, 09:27 AM
lexusrus
Pole Position

Received 250 Likes on 228 Posts

Yes, in stop and go LA traffic it is difficult to drive like you stole it. Hence I relocated my RCF to middle of nowhere where I can really drive it like I stole it. Haha 😆😃😀

In automatic any mode, after the ECU flash I can't replicate the hesitation. Nor can I replicate it in manual any mode. I came close one time in auto sports + where I think I saw a slight drop in rpm on second shift. But I was not sure, I think I was anticipating the drop in rpm and I lifted on the throttle?

I'm not a professional race car driver. This issue is so minute to me that I really can not tell. So I'm going to continue enjoy this RCF as it is. 😊☺😀

Originally Posted by SmurFPwr
even though I agree, I can't drive like that in morning traffic it just isnt possible and that's when I noticed it. So long as I know that it's normal I'm perfectly fine with it. I'm I guess those that never noticed it drive in auto majority of the time.
Old 09-23-16, 12:14 PM
JT2MA71

Received 1,512 Likes on 656 Posts

even though I agree, I can't drive like that in morning traffic it just isnt possible and that's when I noticed it. So long as I know that it's normal I'm perfectly fine with it. I'm I guess those that never noticed it drive in auto majority of the time.
if it's only doing it manual mode and only when shifting at lower rpm's, why drive that way in manual mode? Just my opinion, if I want or need to drive that way, I'd put it in auto mode, in which the "issue" does not happen.
Old 09-23-16, 04:51 PM
ISF001
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Lock up happens in 2nd gear around that 1500-2000rpm range in manual. This is the reason why the shifts are quick from 2-3, 3-4, 5-6 and on especially if you put it under load with a heavy foot.