RC - 1st Gen (2015-present) Discussion about the new Lexus RC model

Am I Wrong?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-16, 01:06 PM
PAPI007
Intermediate

Received 26 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Am I Wrong?

I went to a Lexus dealership today to purchase a 2015 Lexus RC350 CPO as a second car. After 4 hours of negotiations online, we finally agreed to terms. I inspected the car and the front bumper had a lot of curb rash underneath. I immediately cancelled the deal. Yes I know its a CPO and it might have some minor scratches but for a car over $40k I expect it to be damn near perfect. The sales manager said they would not paint it and would be sold as it is with lots of touch up paint. The sales manager statement to me was "Who looks underneath the front bumper?" I told him "I do", what a moron.
Old 04-27-16, 01:39 PM
Reptaur
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a car salesman for a not Lexus brand. I understand both sides of this issue.

There are a lot of things the play into this. For this under the front bumper rash I would have offered you 3 options:
1- no discount on the sale price (you mentioned negotiations) and I will make it like new,
2- as is with the discount. You wanting a used car to be perfect is demanding a lot, and the dealerships job is to make a little money and to make you a happy customer. If I knock $2000 off the sale price that doesn't leave me a lot of room to make it right

3- The other option I would offer you would be to have it fixed at my cost and you pay for it, so if its like $1200 worth of paint labor etc, I might get it done around $900. But you still get your discounted sale price you negotiated.

It wouldn't make sense for me to sell you the car for around $400 profit to spend another $900, more so when its a used car that is hard to replace, the best deal is often found on new cars because the dealership can replace the unit with a new one, and then make their money back from the service department etc...