Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Axle back or Cat back exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-09, 12:07 AM
norcal_c
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Axle back or Cat back exhaust?

I can't decide which style exhaust to get? I'm new to having a LExus. Just sold my 06 G35C for an 07 IS350. Now i have the tuner bug and i can't decide which exhaust to get? I'm looking at the Megan cat back exhaust but i'm afraid that the better exhaust flow will create a loss in low end. My G35 had this issue when i put on cat back exhaust with hiflow cats. Do other drivers with catback exhaust have the same issue. What about axle back. I doubt there are any gains, just a change in sound. Which axle back are people preferring to get. I definitely want it to be louder than stock.
Thanks
Old 08-05-09, 01:46 PM
Glide
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

With the cat-back you wil lose the second cat giving you a deeper sound and higher flo. Most members seem to be going with the JoeZ off-road exhaust ($1499)
Old 08-05-09, 01:51 PM
iSuxeL
Lexus Fanatic

JoeZ FTMFW! Hands down...the quality is second to none, the sound is perfect, no drone, just sound on demand.
Old 08-05-09, 06:52 PM
montgb
Lexus Champion

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

One more time - JoeZ! You can avoid the mix 'n match of midpipe + exhaust and get a quality system that has been proven.

Other full cat-back systems are Invidia, Megan, and Borla.
Old 08-10-09, 12:17 PM
Kurtz
Lexus Fanatic

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

I bought a used Tanabe for $400.

It adds 7 hp. (as will any other axle-back if you want a louder one)

A full exhaust will add 10-12 hp (depending how illegal you want it to be, either technically illegal or glaringly obviously illegal) and cost $1400 or so.

That was pretty easy math for me, gains wise.

Plus I -enjoy- a quieter exhaust on the lexus, given how loud my last car was.
Old 08-11-09, 01:30 AM
norcal_c
Driver