Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Cylinder head different - oil tubes?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-16, 05:41 PM
ISFFUN
Intermediate

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Cylinder head different - oil tubes?

I have two heads. One is supposedly from a 97 NA Supra and the other I have no idea where it came from (possibly imported from Japan as it originally had Toyota timing cover). To clarify, I've been running the one with tubes for 2 years and I went back and looked at pictures of the engine before and it did not have tubes, like the Supra one in the picture below.

One has tubes in some of the cylinder heads near the bolt holes.

The 97 Supra head does not have these. Here are pictures.

What are they?
Attached Thumbnails Cylinder head different - oil tubes?-20160921_143253.jpg   Cylinder head different - oil tubes?-20160921_143302.jpg  

Last edited by ISFFUN; 09-21-16 at 07:39 PM.
Old 09-22-16, 09:55 AM
Ali SC3
Lexus Champion

Received 438 Likes on 368 Posts

Yeah so those are called "speed tubes" and what they do is... ok seriously I have no idea what those are never seen them before

Maybe it is something to do with the JDM head, surprised that you said the egr passages were drilled out... that makes me think it is actually a USDM head but I have not seen one with those tubes on it, but I haven't seen one from every year so its hard to say. mine does not have them. either way I don't think they are detrimental to anything, typically they are not present whatever they do. sometimes with those kind of tubes like on the v8, you an actually unscrew them and back them out, but just swap the 97 head on and don't worry about it.

as for injectors, what style lower runner and throttle body do you have? does it have that tube coming of by the fuel rail wit a hose running to the throttle body?