Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

1JZ Afr all over the place.

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-15, 09:29 AM
1JZCK
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1JZ Afr all over the place.

Hello all, I recently installed a wideband on my sc to see what my 1j is doing. When cold, it idles and cruises great in the 14s but under boost it dives into the 10s. After driving for a little bit it seems to have periods where it'll richen up, idle in the 13s and cruise in the 11s and 12s but this seems to come and go kinda. Then today after driving for maybe 30min and doing some pulls it started to cruise lean in the 15s and idled at in the 17s until it maxed out and I shut the car off and here I am ha. I'm new to widebands and afrs so I'm not really sure where to start troubleshooting. I've browsed around online but haven't really been able to find anything relateable. Any help is appreciated, thanks!
Old 12-19-15, 09:39 AM
1JZCK
Driver School Candidate

Also I'm on stock twins on stock boost, only mod is a front mount. Spark plugs are NGK bkre6eix that are pregapped to .44.
Old 12-20-15, 06:57 AM
INTIMAZY
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Under idle these cars like to go into the 14.1-15.3 area. Under decal, the injectors turn off so it goes super lean. 10s are not uncommon for these ECUs. Toyota really tuned them conservatively. That's why its so common to see bolt-ons without a retune on these turbo platforms.
Old 12-20-15, 08:33 AM
1JZCK
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by INTIMAZY
Under idle these cars like to go into the 14.1-15.3 area. Under decal, the injectors turn off so it goes super lean. 10s are not uncommon for these ECUs. Toyota really tuned them conservatively. That's why its so common to see bolt-ons without a retune on these turbo platforms.