Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

1JZGTE VVTI IN SC300 wiring question

Old 07-15-14, 12:43 PM
driftnh
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1JZGTE VVTI IN SC300 wiring question

hey guys im rather new to the toyota game and have a question about a swap i am currently doing

i have a 93 sc300 auto trans bone stock non vvti, the engine crapped out so i got a new 1jzgte vvti front sump i believe it was pulled from a chaser. the 1jz is complete it comes with a single turbo, auto trans, harness, etc. i want to make this swap as simple as possible and will be keeping the car auto, id like to keep the 1jz swap complete with the way i got it. ive already swapped the rear sump onto the engine and am ready to install it but am still a little confused about the wiring is it possible to re pin and extend the harnesses to work like stock so i can plug it in and go? if so does anyone have the diagrams to the auto ecu's i have?
Old 07-15-14, 04:04 PM
KahnBB6

Received 1,216 Likes on 854 Posts

Hello and welcome!

Looks like you've taken care of one of the major things (oil pan swap). There are ECU pinouts for the 1JZ-GTE VVTi engine available in a couple of threads on this forum. The Chaser version is very common and I do believe the information for it is in those threads. Be sure to use the automatic transmission that came with the 1JZ engine. Your stock SC300 auto transmission will not hold up to the torque. Not sure if there are any driveshaft differences.

I believe the relevant thread(s) have "1JZ VVT-i" and "pinout" in the title.

Also, I hope you have a version of the 1JZ-GTE VVT-i that is NON-DBW. Later 1JZ's mostly used in Toyota Crowns (no idea if other models were included) used a fully electronic drive-by-wire throttle which is difficult to swap to SC's. Since you have a Chaser 1JZ I think you should be fine.
Old 07-22-14, 05:16 AM
driftnh
Driver School Candidate