Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

1jz replace or rebuild turbos?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-14, 08:56 PM
JonBlaze2g
Driver

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 1jz replace or rebuild turbos?

Whats up everyone, i'm pretty new to cl in fact this is my first thread. i'm doing a soarer 1j swap on my sc and the car started up first crank but then started smoking like hell, my turbos are leaking bad and was wondering (since the toyota dealership cant seem to figure out what car this engine came out of in the us) does anyone know of a compatible turbo? like is the 2j the same exact application? i'm trying to keep my twin setup and would like to rebuild or replace them with brand new ones. any direction would be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-23-14, 01:28 AM
Lokz
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Driftmotion rebuilds the stock 1jz turbo's but they are pricey or you can go get used one's around you might find it in classifieds section.
Old 03-23-14, 06:13 AM
1CleanSC
Driver

My friend did a 1jz swap and his were puking oil and smoking. Apparently they over fill it when they pull it out and have it in storage. It should be okay. Did you try letting it run for a while and seeing of it stopped?
Old 03-23-14, 08:06 AM
JonBlaze2g
Driver

Originally Posted by Lokz
Driftmotion rebuilds the stock 1jz turbo's but they are pricey or you can go get used one's around you might find it in classifieds section.
i'm afraid to go used, i don't want to run into the same problem. how much do you think it will cost me to rebuild both turbos?
Old 03-23-14, 08:10 AM
JonBlaze2g
Driver

Originally Posted by 1CleanSC
My friend did a 1jz swap and his were puking oil and smoking. Apparently they over fill it when they pull it out and have it in storage. It should be okay. Did you try letting it run for a while and seeing of it stopped?