Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Running Rough and Check Engine Light Won't Give Code

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-23, 04:45 PM
Ethan5150
Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Question Running Rough and Check Engine Light Won't Give Code

Hi all, over the last couple of weeks my car has been intermittently running rough ('93 SC 400) but now it's all the time. It feels like it's missing on a cylinder but I'm no mechanic so I could be totally off. Also, the check engine light has been coming on intermittently and it too, is now on solid. Over the past couple of weeks, when it did come on, it would sometimes come on really dim, get brighter, get dimmer, go off... strange behavior. But now its solid on.

So I tried to pull diagnostics by jumping T1 and E1 in the engine compartment, but all I get is a solid CEL and a flashing OD/OFF light - no codes from the CEL.

Also, if it's any help - my Air Bag light came on around the same time. Solid on. The wire dance fix doesn't clear it after MANY tries (I've done this before without issue) - it just flashes 3-1 and comes back on. I don't know if this is related or not...

What am I missing here? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-14-23, 08:09 PM
Tallyhoe
Advanced

Received 135 Likes on 106 Posts

My first question would be, if it's lowered? check underneath the driver side splash guard and check for damaged wires. If your CEL was flashing, while you were driving, maybe a misfire. Check ignitors on both banks, spark plugs and wires. Look up wiring diagrams for the airbags, and check to see if the plugs are fully seated, if they're not damaged. On the transmission, is it the original transmission? Other possibilities a rat probably got to the wiring and feasted on them.
The following 3 users liked this post by Tallyhoe:
Ethan5150 (03-15-23), RudysSC (03-15-23), RXRodger (03-14-23)
Old 03-15-23, 01:39 PM
Ethan5150
Driver