Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Sound Proofing?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-12, 03:14 PM
kjhp787078
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sound Proofing?

Hey so I've got some pretty mean road noise in my car and was thinking of getting those sound proofing mats (hushmat, dynamat, etc.) but wasn't sure if it really works. One reason my road noise is so high is because there are holes on either side of the trunk which I plan to cover with...something...(if you could help me there too that'd be greatly appreciated!!!) along with the sound proofing mat. If anybody has some ideas or knowledge or anything really it'd really help!
Btw, you can see the tires from the trunk holes....I though trying to put subs in the corners to cover them up might work...yeah idk I'm new to the car scene so don't pick on me hahaha but yes I did try search..I'm not new to forums.
Thanks!
Old 09-29-12, 03:56 PM
maynanator
Lead Lap

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

to your question on whether things like dynamat work, the answer is yes. remember this, with things like dynamat you really are paying for what you get so don't cheap out. the best thing to do would be to cover everything under the back seats/ rear deck. good luck and welcome to Clublexus.
Old 09-29-12, 07:26 PM
kjhp787078
Driver School Candidate

okay thanks!!
Do you have any experience installing it? I'm just not sure if I need to seal it with tape or that sealant they sell as well...don't wanna screw up a couple hundred dollar investment that will take quite a bit of time installing throughout the car lol
Old 09-29-12, 08:35 PM
gambit4000
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by kjhp787078
okay thanks!!