Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Tuning for dummies???

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-12, 09:48 AM
2j300
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tuning for dummies???

I am new to turbo/ injected/ECU run cars, What I mean is that the extent of my knowledge of tuning is on Carb; Pretty basic stuff. I am always open to acquire more knowledge about my car though. What suggestions do you have for reading material whether internet or paper based for tuning. Assume I have minimal knowledge about the subject. Thanks in advance, any info helps!!!
Old 05-04-12, 10:23 AM
Knuckleup
Driver

OP if your seriously looking to either become a tuner/tune your own car, or just really want a good bit of knowledge, I suggest looking into the EFI 101 classes put on by EFI university and taught by Ben Schrader

Last edited by Knuckleup; 05-04-12 at 10:29 AM.
Old 05-04-12, 10:45 AM
bryan767
Lexus Test Driver

lol^ thats if hes looking to make money and have a certificate.

first you need a wideband and common sense. watch the wideband and take out fuel or add it accordingly. in boost i would stay between 10.5-12.5, cruising id say 13-15 but 14.7 is ideal.
Old 05-04-12, 10:58 AM
Knuckleup
Driver

The class could offer him a good bit of knowledge he may not have. I didn't suggest it so that he could make money. If someone has never tuned before, and you gave them a wideband, a little bit of common sense, and a dyno, would you let them tune your car Bryan? Because I know I wouldn't. Telling someone what AF's to shoot for is one thing. Showing them how to do it properly is another. Just my opinion.
Old 05-04-12, 11:06 AM
spoolxexo
Lexus Test Driver

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Tuning is a trade of sorts, so that means a lot of guys who use this trade are about as willing as telling you how to do it, then the 60-year old tech with 100k in snap on letting you use his tools.