Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

can I use this Metal head gasket

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-11, 11:07 PM
619Rider
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default can I use this Metal head gasket

I am in a low buget for my na-t so I came across this MHG in ebay.. has anyone used this before?
any thoughts about it.? I wont make more than 10 psi
The seller has 100% feedback
it comes with....
+ Multi-layered steel head gasket
+ Intake manifold gasket
+ Exhaust manifold gasket
+ Valve cover gasket
+ Viton valve stem seals
+ Camshaft front
+ O-rings
+ Other Small Gaskets
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Multi...#ht_3026wt_924

Last edited by 619Rider; 09-27-11 at 11:23 PM.
Old 09-28-11, 04:29 AM
lexforlife
Lexus Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

as a strong na-t builder myself let me make a suggestion... dont skimp on the most important seal on the motor.. go with oem only tt headgasket.. it has a copper core for better strenghth and heat tolerances.. when i build or do motor swap for customer , i only use oem parts and seals ..

just my humble advice , and it might save you from having to tear back down and re do
Old 09-28-11, 04:36 AM
spoolxexo
Lexus Test Driver

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

In my experience, I have found that rubber and metal are rubber and metal.

You don't want knockoff things like:

-Engine bearings

-Pistons

-Oil Pumps, etc

If guys swear by ebay turbo manifolds, why not?

It looks like the standard overbore, and has no info on how thick it is. Ask the seller.
Old 09-28-11, 03:43 PM
lexforlife
Lexus Fanatic

not exactly true .. their different grades and types and qualities of metals and rubbers hence cheaper pricing .. i would not trust a turbo build using non quality stuff period , do what you like ... a factory oem tt hg is like 140 ish from toyota , ebay crap is like 50-80 .. if 70 -90 is a issue , maybe you should not be boosting this car