Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

"92 SC 400, Running on 4 cylinders?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-02, 09:23 PM
Kenzmail
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "92 SC 400, Running on 4 cylinders?

Hey all you experts, I'm new to this so maybe my issue has been talked about and already solved(?)
Sitting at the drive thru coffee place in my all stock '92 SC 400, waiting for my coffee when suddenly it starts acting like it's running on 4 cyclinders. And, (this is really weird) as I try to rev it, the tach pegs to zero RPM(?). I limped home and parked it, noticing an unpleasent smell, sort of a burning smell.
Does this car have 2 coils, one that may have given up? Are there any other suggestions or similar experiences?
Thanx,
Ken
Old 06-11-02, 11:51 AM
Kenzmail
Driver School Candidate

Well,
I never got a single response from this club. The Lexus dealer said that yes, a coil was bad due to leaking valve cover gasket(s), ...saturated the coil with oil. A new coil installed: $350+ (ouch!), new valve cover gaskets: $630+ (double ouch!).
The better part of a grand! I'm sure I could've did it myself but it's too late now. Should pick it up today.
Ken
Old 06-11-02, 12:50 PM
awj
Bluegr*** Performance

Did you see the oil leaking from your valve cover? Do you do your own oil changes? Did the place you may or may not take your car to get oil changes notify you about oil coming form the valve cover? They should have.
Old 06-11-02, 06:00 PM
Kenzmail
Driver School Candidate

Well, to be honest, this is my Dad's car and he lets me use it when I need to (excellent loaner car huh?). I/we did not see the oil leak and it never left a drop in the garage. He had all the service (oil changes etc. ) done at the Lexus dealership who never warned of any oil leaks. It's a '92 with only 46k miles and I feel that, with the low miles and age, the gaskets were probably just hard and gave up.