Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Failed NOx emissions 4 times!

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-09, 03:43 PM
Project300
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Failed NOx emissions 4 times!

My stock 93 SC300 is not passing the emissions test for NOx gas. I have been researching this for 5 months now and have found that NOx are formed by high combustion chamber gas temps. This can be caused by carbon build-up in the chamber or valves. A plugged EGR can also cause high NOx.

1st test gave 1316 ppm with new wires and plugs, cap, rotor, PCV, O2 sens and air filter.

2nd test gave 1191 after putting seafoam into the intake and in the tank to clean the valves and fuel path.

3rd test gave 1071 after more seafoam treatment and another brand of injector cleaner.

4th test gave 1047 after replacing the EGR with a new one and cleaning the intake passages.

I was stunned this week when it failed again after the new EGR was just installed because I thought for sure that was the problem. I have done all the work myself so I know everything is done correctly. With 175k on the odo, the car has all of the original exhaust that was installed in Japan. From what I understand tho, the cat should not make a difference in NOx emissions. 2 years ago it failed NOx and then passed after I put Seafoam only in the tank.

My next plan is to:
1. Dump alot more seafoam in the intake and tank.
if that doesn't work,
2. Replace the cat,
or
3. Pull the head and do a valve job.
or
4. Find a 1jz-gte

Let me know if I'm overlooking something cuz I'm baffled that it's so hard to get this thing to pass the sniff test. I've always kept it in tune and only run quality fuel.
Old 05-26-09, 03:49 PM
Durrr
Lead Lap

After you seafoam the intake, change your oil as the acids that blow-by the rings from the carbon buildup emulsification will cause breakdown of your oil. Seafoam in the gas is good as well.