Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

SC400 and LS400 transmission difference?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-09, 08:10 PM
serg93
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SC400 and LS400 transmission difference?

Hi guys! new guy here, can any of you guys tell me the difference in transmission in the sc400 and the ls400? I have a 93 sc, I know that they have the same motor, but can you also use the same tranny? sorry Im new with this cars!
Reason I'm asking, is because some guy is selling me one from an Ls at a good price, and he told me it will work.
Also is changing the transmission complicated on this cars? any special tools?
I have been working on my cars for a good time, and I have change a couple of them, but like I said im new with this cars, and I would like to know if I should just leave it to a professional?
I would really appreciate the information, thanks!
Old 01-23-09, 06:37 AM
rdm20fan
Lead Lap

they are basiclly the same, and will work. first gear is different. Taller in the LS if i remember correctly. It makes the take off slightly slower. You can pull 1st out of the SC trans and put it in the LS trans.
Housings bolt up the same.
Depending on year, the early trans had a kick down cable to get the trans to down shift under full throttle. check to see if you have one now, and if the trans has one.

If you have done a RWD automatic trans before you should be able to do the SC/LS trans. The top bolts from the trans to the motor are difficult, but not impossible.
I used a bunch of extensions. taped them together so they don't come apart, and got the bolts from behind. almost at the tailshaft of the trans, but i'm sure there are other ways.
Old 01-23-09, 01:00 PM
serg93
Driver School Candidate

Default Sc400 and ls400 transmission difference?